Boredom. A blessing or a Curse?

As a child I never dared utter the fatal words “I’m bored”, as I would be sent immediately to clean my bedroom.

Even now when I hear the words slip from my mouth, I feel a sense of guilt and shame.

So is boredom the source of all evil? As the old saying goes “the devil makes work for idle hands”.

I think that we all need moments of boredom to appreciate the hard work that we do.

It’s easy to see boredom as a blessing…when you are miles  from being  bored, tearing your hair out with stress, dreaming of a land where you could laze on the couch with nothing to do only watch tv.

Right now I’m so bored I could tear my own hair out, I’m even dreaming about my return to college and the steady stream of deadlines that await.

So its like the grass on the other side….always greener.

If you want a moment of doing nothing then why not?And if you can’t sit still then get out and enjoy yourself.

Enjoy these moments for just you, they are few and far between.

2 thoughts on “Boredom. A blessing or a Curse?

  1. Pingback: The Gift of Boredom - The Homeschool Scuttle

  2. Pingback: River of Stones: Day 11 | Inspired Vision

Leave a Reply

